Track Plans for Pembroke:87.1

I had a minor trampoline injury on Sunday evening, and so, I didn’t feel up to building anything. I used the time to dream about possible track plans for a display layout for RAMMA.

IMG_1813.JPG

As you can see, I started with the prototype, of course. This came from a diagram that is a little later than the 1905 timeframe that I model. I believe in my day, the switch into Lee Manufacturing went the other way. That’s the way I’ve built it on the home layout, and it yields a nice switch-back for added switching fun.

In my mind, I had roughed in a version that brought the turnouts for the depot area into the scene. However, as I thought about it, more turnouts implies more cost and more time (the latter is signficant). If the staging yard is anything to go by, I’m looking at a good couple of weeks to lay the four or five turnouts that would have implied.

So, I pulled in my horns, and thought about using only two turnouts – the siding and the engine house. There is no point in including the cattle pen as I don’t think cattle would have been shipped in winter. (Hmm, as I think about this more, an un-plowed siding would make an interesting scenic detail).

If I add Lee Manufacturing back in, I get another turnout, but two more spots, which could be fun for operating. Incidentally, there is a third spot for engine coal inside the engine house. I wasn’t sure about crowding the scene with Lee Manufacturing, and so, I mocked it up in Sketchup.

portable2

So what do you think, should I divert resources away from Pembroke:87 to build Pembroke:87.1? If so, which one?

2 thoughts on “Track Plans for Pembroke:87.1

  1. Hi Rene,

    I’m a firm advocate of ‘simple is best’ for this kind of project, especially when you’ve got a deadline to meet. Far better that you aim for something simple and complete it to your satisfaction. People will be impressed with your loco and cars, and if you create a simple credible scene in which to display them, with the right amount of signature detail, that will more than make up for the reduced operating potential. For my p87 Danish layout I have ended up with a loop and a siding (siding and a spur in North American parlance?), and that is more than enough to keep viewers and operators happy. In fact it draws the spectators in to a more focused look at the scenic detail of the layout – or so people tell me!

    Look forward to further reports.

    Regards,

    Geraint

Leave a Reply

