Engine truck good enough for now

Rebuilding the engine truck wheels, including one tyre that went missing (but is not missed as it wasn’t my best work) took a morning. This time I soldered the half-axles in place before casting the spokes. So all the wheels are nice and solid now, even the one that came apart in the heat and is probably no longer centred and will need to be rebuilt again.

I turned up some muffs from acetal plastic, and pressed the wheels home. This should get me through the Railway Modellers’ Meet. However, I do not believe we’ve heard the end of this part of the engine. I’m not happy with the vertical squareness of the truck, and there is that wheel to fix. So after the show, I will likely take another swing at it; fortunately, I anticipated this mulligan and included two sets of side frames in the fret.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.