Approach for spokes

I was beginning to despair this Wednesday as I worried away at a test wheel with files and Dremel. The 304 stainless is about as hard as the first batch of cookies I ever baked. As with those tooth-breakers, I felt I was probably wearing out my tools faster than I was shaping the spokes.

This frustration was the pinnacle of an otherwise desperate evening where I tried to accurately mark out the required spokes on the back of the wheel. Ink did not want to stick to the wheel, and anyway, the steel is devilish stuff to scrape. I made progress by tracing a wheel outline with a fine Sharpie, knowing I would be refining as I got close to finished dimensions.

A couple of days later, after contacting a local laser cutter, and briefly considering EDM, I decided to have a go with a jeweller’s saw. This turned out to be faster than I’d expected, greased along with a little cutting oil.

The best approach for me seems to be to tape a cast wheel to the back of a turned blank and follow that casting to position the spokes and the eccentric. I then wheedle the casting off and flip the wheel over, following the central boss and the tyre with the saw.

4 thoughts on “Approach for spokes

  1. I’d save time with doing a Model in MasterCAM, just need the drawings of the wheel center and I could make it for CNC Machines.

      1. Not true, I could make a part for $5 out of 1018 steel. or $15 for 314 Stainless. That’s all you’d have to pay for if you get with my college, we could machine the molds/castings and send them to you to do metal parts then. I’d be more than happy to do some work on wheels for you, just would let you know it will be a while before we’re available to do it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.