Roundhouse ready to test

It’s a sad reality that creating models with new tools like the Cricut leads to more time in front of the computer.  What’s worse, my wife and kids are never even feign enthusiasm when I show them the output of a night’s drawing.  I doubt you are interested either.

The partially tested plan is to make the roundhouse walls from six layers of card, and the photo above shows all those layers visible at once.  That is a bit like trying to make sense of heap of spaghetti, but I think it almost illustrates the manner in which the layers are drawn.  To create this drawing in Inkscape, I started with a view of the exterior walls that I was shooting for.  I then duplicated the layer six times, once for each layer of card.  On each layer I removed all the exterior elements that don’t belong, and added the interior elements that do belong.  There is a special layer called “Annotations” on which I keep notes to myself and some key dimensions.

Before loading them on the Cricut, the layers need to get flattened, and each set of shapes that will be cut together needs to become a single path.  Here are the six layers of the test end wall laid out for cutting.

Roundhouse end wall

3 thoughts on “Roundhouse ready to test

  1. I had to laugh when I read the first part of your post. I get about the same reaction here when sitting in front of a screen filled with AutoCAD. “Modelmaking? Yeah. Right.”

    I’m impressed with the Cricut’s ability to cut those window mullions.

    When the Cricut cuts from a corner, does the blade turn (rotate) in the corner? When I’m cutting card with a knife, I cut away from the corner in one direction; then turn the work and repeat from that same centre point outward. Just curious to learn how the machine works.

    /chris

    1. Yes, I do the same. It helps ensure that you don’t accidentally slice past the end of the cut, severing the mullion.
      The Cricut doesn’t do the same. It seems to follow the paths in the SVG in order. To turn the corner, it must draw the knife past the corner so that the tip of the blade is right on the corner. Then it reverses and moves onto the next section of the path. As it does so, it throws up a little burr, especially in styrene, so you can see what has happened. The knife is held vertically, which yields higher burrs in styrene than you or I could manage.
      Hope that helps
      Rene

      1. Thank you for the detail.

        I’m reading your latest update on this project now and see in the photo (of the result) more of how the Cricut works through the drawing.

        Thanks

        /chris

Leave a Reply

