The privilege of the active

I’m waiting at IKEA for yet more cabinets, this time for the laundry room, and as far as I can tell, unrelated to trains. I have a warm cinnamon bun and a coffee and the self-satisfied glow of being here early enough to have missed the crowds.

On the other side of the hall, across which I can see because I got here early, is a history panel, where you can find out such things as the origin of the name “IKEA.”   I love this red panel, which quotes the founder, though:

“Only while sleeping do you make no mistakes. Mistakes are the privilege of the active person, who can start over and put things right.”

— Ingvar Kamprad

It sums up my relationship with model railways.  I guess the laundry room cabinets do have something to do with The trains after all.

3 thoughts on “The privilege of the active

      1. We don’t use that word enough. It’s humbling but marks the moment where we start to understand how lucky we are to be doing what we’re doing. No matter what that is.

        Chris

Leave a Reply

