Roundhouse doors stress Cricut accuracy

I should know better, really I should.  Time and again, I press forward only to run headlong into reality.

This week I’ve stolen only a few minutes away from work; or more accurately, work has stolen most of the evening hours from me.  Those minutes that I could apply to the railway went to creating a plug to assist with positioning the doors so I can complete the hinges.

Having only a few minutes, I pretty much threw the doors on the plug and found to my chagrin that they are too big!  How has this happened?  The drawing actually allows .020″ (.5 mm) clearance around the doors.  Yet, they are as much as .040″ (1 mm) too wide.

My best theory is that because I cut out the openings and the doors themselves in separate runs, the cutter is not as accurate as I might have hoped or thought.  I don’t recall, but perhaps I even rotated one of the parts, and it is likely that the cutter is not uniformly accurate; a vertical centimetre may not be the same as a horizontal one.

In any case, now I am faced with a gut-wrenching decision.  Should I salvage the hinges and abandon the doors, or shave little bits off here and there to see if I can make them fit?

5 thoughts on “Roundhouse doors stress Cricut accuracy

  1. I’ve used a Cricut too, with similar issues. The problem I have is that with my unit, alignment of the material to be cut is CRITICAL when it comes to cutting, and even than, the dimensions on my drawing are not always exactly what comes out. I would save the doors and shave a little off where you have to. I’ve given up on using mine for structures, but will use it for stand-alone pieces, like letters for the side of a building or name plates for my fascia. I may save up and buy a higher-end cutter at some point down the road.

    Keep the blot posts coming!

    1. Thanks for the validation. I think one of the keys to success is to cut as many interdependent parts at once as possible. If I had cut the doors at the same time as the openings, oriented the same way, they’re more likely to have worked. Casting and even etching suffer from the same shortcoming.

  2. Hi Rene!
    Grrrr! don’t you just love it when you run into an obstacle after all that planning! :/

    I second the motion to do a little trimming rather than throwing away all your work up to this point. That’s what I would do anyway.
    Cheers, Shawn

Leave a Reply

