Test wall for Pembroke roundhouse

In 1908, the Pembroke roundhouse was listed in “fair” condition.  It stood for another 48 years until it burned.  So, I read “fair” to mean that it was not dilapidated, but also, perhaps not first class.  I speculate, therefore, that perhaps it wasn’t painted.

The other challenge with the Pembroke roundhouse is that it is right near the front of the layout, and one corner is missing as it overhangs the edge of the world.  Together with the big front doors and the windows, this means that the interior needs to be detailed at least to some degree.

We know that the roundhouse was built with “Colonial” siding, and so, now we’re looking for something that looks like wide clapboard, but that isn’t too thick, and that can be detailed on the back.

Now, I’ve just about given up on trying to get styrene to look like wood.  Others have fantastic experiences with Kilz primer and washes of inks, but these don’t seem to work for me.

My friend, Mike Chandler, has been making masterpieces from card for decades, and so, I thought I would try out that style of construction, too.  I figure that card will act more like wood when it comes to washes and stains.  Also, with my Cricut, I can cut card, and perhaps save myself some time.

So, I invented a shape that enables me to cut all the boards for a wall of siding from two or three pieces of card, and fold them together.  Once glued, the edges can be cut away to turn the sheets into individual boards, that have been accurately placed.  I think the same can be applied for shingles, as you can see below:

Shingle idea

The card for the wall is 3-ply Strathmore Bristol Board.  I’m still experimenting with cutting these materials on the Cricut, but it looks like the Bristol board will cut on the “Poster Board” setting on the Cricut dial. On the back, I experimented with Canson matte board to represent the studs.  These are all cut out in a single piece using the Cricut at 340 and 6 passes with a deep cut blade.

Test wall

Mike warned me that I need to use oil paints to colour card. My experiments confirmed this, which is a bit of a shame as up until this point, there were no solvents. For this test wall, I coloured everything after it had been assembled. The outside is a mix of black, yellow ochre and raw sienna. Inside, it is plain raw sienna.

Overall, the process looks promising. It is quick and yields pleasing results.

2 thoughts on “Test wall for Pembroke roundhouse

Leave a Reply

