The Consistency of Oatmeal

After years of hearing about it, I decided to give Lou Sassi’s ground goop a try.  I found a few online resources with the recipe, including a video on the Model Railroader site, with Lou himself mixing it up.  The recipe I found was

  • one part Cellulite
  • one part fine vermiculite
  • one part dirt-coloured paint (I found a recycled paint at Rona called “clay” for cheap)
  • 3/4 part white glue
  • Lysol for storage
  • water to taste

You’re supposed to mix this to “the consistency of oatmeal.”  So, I did, and I was very disappointed.  The stuff was more or less impossible to make flat, sticking to whatever tool I used to push it down and making a very rough surface.

That’s when I watched the video.  I guess Lou likes his oatmeal substantially thicker than I do.  The stuff he and others seem to mix is more like the consistency of peanut butter after all the oil has separated out and you’re just left with peanut paste at the bottom of the jar.

So, I tried again, this time aiming for dry peanut butter, and the result was much more manageable.  The first batch is in the background, while the second batch is in the foreground.

2 thoughts on “The Consistency of Oatmeal

  1. Sounds like an easier recipie than the method I posted on MRH. I’ll have to give it a try! Thanks.

    Neil

    p.s. My warp solution created some major earthquake issues with the spur off the Mainline that I was too dismayed to post but wanted to let you know that the trial end errors are not only your domain. nce

    1. Glad to hear I’m not alone, Neil.

      I know exactly how you feel about being too dismayed. I’ve found that eventually the wounds do heal, however, and then it’s great to be able to look back on the failures that I pushed through.

Leave a Reply

