Debugging #10

It seems to be two steps forward, one step back on #10.  No sooner had I fixed the quartering issue that had popped up, than I discovered that the engine truck weight was dragging and catching on guard rails.

After I resolved that, I triumphantly placed the engine on the track.  Where it sat.  Silently.  Just sat, as if it were getting no power whatsoever.  Yup, that’s what was happening, all right: the other tender connection had failed in exactly the same way as the first.

Well, fortunately, I knew exactly how to solve that problem, and so, this evening I repeated the procedure that I’d done to the left side on the right.  The engine ran back and forth happily after that.

And then it didn’t.

Some days I want to chuck the whole thing in the trash.   Not just #10, but the whole hobby, or at least the way I practice it.  I have made a lot of choices in this hobby away from the mainstream.   1905, the Canada Atlantic, Proto:87 – any one of these would have been a road less travelled.   Combined, there isn’t even a road!

Now, just as with the tender connection, I know that every time I tackle a problem, it will be easier and faster the next time.  I am paving my own road as I go.   But, I tell you, it is hard going some days.

5 thoughts on “Debugging #10

  1. Keep at it. I could care less about choice of prototype – they’re all completely cookie cutter from where I’m standing – but in certain cases they drive a project in interesting directions. Your project is one of those. I doubt your modelling practice would be as interesting without the technical choices you have made and the effort it has taken to execute them.

    Andrew H

  2. An update: it turned out to be easy fix. I simply needed to do a little more crimping on the new connector. Now the engine stomps out of the station with the passenger car without a problem (well, except for dirty track).

    1. I think anywhere folks are exploring less trodden paths in this hobby, you will find they are taking full advantage of the new technologies. I do love the irony of using 21st Century manufacturing to model the 19th Century, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

