Cricut – a new tool in the workshop

Happy Christmas to one and all!  I hope Santa was nice to you.  Here in North Vancouver, he didn’t disappoint: I found a Cricut Explore Air under our tree!  Well, actually not under the tree, per se, because it didn’t fit, but it was in the vicinity and it had my name on it.

The Cricut is a home die-cutting machine, aimed at the craft market.  It can cut a variety of thin materials based on vector graphics drawings.  I’ve been watching die-cutting machines ever since I stumbled into a pallet-load of them one day at Michaels.  At that time, it didn’t look like you could cut your own designs, but they’ve come a long way.

I’m not going to play with it extensively just yet, but given that so many other technical toys disappointed us this Christmas, I thought I’d better at least take it out of the box and make sure it works.

I found a “Start Here” pamphlet on the top of the box, and simply followed the instructions.  The machine comes in a handy-looking fitted bag, which I think I will keep as a dust cover.  I took it out and plopped it on the table where we’re doing our puzzle (thanks again Scott and Margot, and no it’s still not finished), and plugged it in.

The machine comes with everything for a first project, and so, I went ahead and ran that project.  It worked on the first attempt, and I was very happy, even though I have no need for a “Hello” card.  Indeed, this was the only technical toy that worked on the first try straight out of the box all Christmas.   XBox has a lot to catch up to!

So, what will I use it for?  Who knows?  But tools like this and 3D printing make just about anything possible.

11 thoughts on “Cricut – a new tool in the workshop

  1. Have you got the deep cut blade attachment for your Cricut Rene? Apparently this attachment might cut 30 thou styrene with a few passes…the Nelson diesel house is calling!

      1. I’d be happy to equip your shop with the deep blade attachment if I might get to experiment with it on some N scale styrene window frames and walls! Is there a min feature size you think it can “resolve “? A mullion width for example?

  2. These cutters are pretty neat. I’ve seen them at Michael’s too and almost immediately envisioned potential for making models. I’ve read where other modellers have had some terrific luck using these Cricut cutters to cut through thin styrene sheet and I’m looking forward to reading how you get along.

    /chris

Leave a Reply

