On its wheels

I must admit I felt some trepidation when I went to add the wheel assemblies to the turntable this evening.  They were inherently unstable, and I couldn’t think of a way to clamp them so the glue would have time to dry.  I also haven’t come up with a way to pin them, which I would have liked Ito have done.

In the end, it turned out to be easy.  I used gel CA, thinking that it would give me a litle working time, and coated the backs of the assemblies with it.  Then, with the turntable supported on the spacers that I used to test the level of the ring rail, I simply slid the wheel assembly along the rail until it connected with the turntable.  The CA actually grabbed a little quicker than I would have liked, but the wheel assemblies seem to have connected just fine.

Once they were tacked in place with CA, I went around forcing a little fillet of epoxy into the edges of the joints.  Once everything was glued down, I simply removed the spacers and took the table for a spin.  All four wheels seems to connect with the ring rail all the way around, and more importantly, the table barely moves at all vertically.

Turntable on its wheels

One thought on “On its wheels

Leave a Reply

