What a difference a half-decade makes

The new sound decoder for #10 arrived last week, and I just took it out of the box. Wow, it is a lot smaller than the old decoder!  This should be a cinch to fit into the tender, and may enable me to add a little more lead to bring the tender up to NMRA standard weight.

After not very much research, I went with an ESU LokSound Select Micro.  My friend, Tim Horton tried one out earlier this year, and his N-scale GP-9 sounded like it was going to run me over.  So, I’m sure I will be happy with it.

IMG_2080.JPG

I wasn’t expecting a speaker with enclosure, but somehow Tony’s Train Exchange sent one anyway. Thanks guys! I think I will use it if I can get the old speaker off, even though the tender itself is supposed to be a speaker enclosure.

Leave a Reply

