Ties for the North Switch

After scratching my head for a while over the misalignment here at the north switch of the siding, I decided to pull a few more ties off and smooth it all out.

With the aid of a wooden spline and my darling wife, who braved basement and sore back, we got a new centreline marked for the “straight” route.

IMG_1020.JPG

Then I made sure all the tie strips would fit, and spent a few minutes admiring the much-improved alignment by siting down the track.

IMG_1019.JPG

Next, I took the trusty template from Proto87.com and marked the centreline and intersection point for the diverging route. Anyone ca tell you this is not the right way to lay out a curved turnout, but the curvature here is sufficiently broad that I think I can get away with it.

IMG_1021.JPG

The ties went back on, and this time, I cut the shims for the PC board ties. In the other turnouts, I used either wood or card for these shims, thinking that plastic might melt. Time will tell, but both plastic and card had their own challenges.

IMG_1022.JPG

Finally, it was time to glue down the wooden ties. I marked the centre of about every sixth tie or so, and used these marks to align with the centrelines on the roadbed.

IMG_1023.JPG

More sighting along the track and ties ensued, and I nudged ties around in the wet PVA until I was happy that there didn’t appear to be any kinks.

IMG_1025.JPG

Well, no kinks, except that one in the ties in the foreground. Perhaps I should pull them back all the way to the point of the milling company spur, but here they’re buried in a grade crossing anyway. The rail is where I want it, and he new ties align better with the rail.

Leave a Reply

