Learning as I go: the Sky

It looks like the sky is going to want two coats, which is good because by the time I got to the bottom, my technique had become much better. My basic blue is “Utah Sky” (2065-40) from Benjamin Moore, but there is very little of the straight colour up there. As others have proposed before me, I started with the dark blue at the very top, and then added white as I worked down the wall.

Here, then, is what I learned along the way.

  • The foam roller is the way to go. I used a four incher as my sky is not that big.
  • Don’t bother cutting in the bottom edge before starting to work down from the top. You’ll wind up redoing it anyway because the last layer bit needs to match better.
  • Start with about enough blue to paint half the sky or more. You’re going to waste some anyway, and it’s nice not to have to mix in the middle.
  • I added about four table spoons of white for each layer. The layers mixed on the wall, and so, it all came out a little darker than intended.
  • To avoid streaks, squash out the top edge of the roller against the wall before working into the layer above. Then put more pressure on the bottom edge of the roller than the top as you’re rolling. Indeed, the top edge could be lifted away from the wall.
  • Evaluate each layer as it goes on and correct any streaks before you go further. You don’t want to be reaching back three or more layers with a lighter colour because it’s really hard to blend it in.
  • Use a relatively full roller, rather than squeezing it out against the tray. The tray will make a tractor tyre pattern of dry spots on the roller, and that won’t look good on the sky.
Leave a Reply

